Architectural Commission

The five-member Architectural Commission is appointed by the City Council to make decisions regarding the aesthetics of development in all commercial and multi-family residential areas of the City. It does NOT have jurisdiction over development in single-family residential areas, public schools in the Beverly Hills Unified School District, or public parks. The Commission also serves as the advisory commission to the City Council regarding the preservation of historical and cultural landmarks in the City, encroachments in commercial-adjacent public rights-of way, and on City building projects. The official secretary of the Commission is the Director of Planning and Community Development, who provides staff support to the Architectural Commission.

The Commission's comprehensive approach to Architectural Review includes landscape design, paint and other finishes, and signs, as well as exterior building form. All reviews require that the Commission be able to make certain findings about the circumstances and merits of the design proposals, prior to issuance of associated building permits. In addition, the Architectural Commission reviews specific departures from the sign code through a special procedure called a "Sign Accommodation", conducted in a public hearing for which neighboring property owners and residential occupants have been notified by mail. The Commission also presents Architectural Design Awards for outstanding completed projects on an annual or biennial basis. The Architectural Commission meets the second Wednesday afternoon of each month with additional meetings as necessary. Meetings are held in Room 280-A on the second floor of Beverly Hills City Hall. All meetings are webstreamed and broadcast live on BH10.

    AC July 2016

(l-r) Commissioner Sheri Hirschfeld, Vice Chair Michelle Kaye, Chair Gidas Peteris, Commissioner Andrea Gardner Apatow, Commissioner Sharon Persovski



To view audio/video of past Architectural Commission meetings, click this link: Archived Architectural Commission Meetings


< loading... >