Font Size

Questions (Ask Bev)

Video on Demand


iMap (GIS)


Water Tracker

Org Chart

Advocate Registration
Police Department Profile of the Department History of the Beverly Hills Police Department
History of the Beverly Hills Police Department

History of the Beverly Hills Police Department

City Hall and police vehicles in the 1920s


In 1914, shortly after the City of Beverly Hills was incorporated, Augustus Niestrum was appointed City Marshal and Jack Munson as his Deputy. In the early days, Munson's home served as the headquarters for the City's Fire and Police Departments. In early 1915, another officer, George M. Russell, who later became Postmaster, was secured

By 1916, Officers A. N. Geisler, a school janitor who was sworn in to protect the children and Russell Benedict were added to the force. Russell Benedict was the son of P.E. Benedict, whose land in Benedict, Franklin and Higgins Canyons was added to the community to meet the population requirement for City incorporation. When Munson retired in 1919, Charles C. Blair was appointed City Marshal, and served as both Fire and Police Chief. In 1925, after eight years in combined quarters, the Fire and Police Departments were separated.


Police vehicles circa 1920s

On August 1, 1927, the Beverly Hills Police Department was formed as a municipal organization, and Blair became its first Chief of Police. The Department consisted of Blair, one captain, three lieutenants, four sergeants, four motor officers, twenty-three patrolmen and three clerks. In 1932, the Police Department moved to the Beverly Hills City Hall, where it remained until the new police facility was occupied in 1990. The current police facility is located across the street from City Hall at 464 N. Rexford Drive.      

Nine chiefs have succeeded Charles Blair as Beverly Hills Police Chief. Clinton H. Anderson's 26 years as chief (1942-1969) was the longest tenure in the Department's history; Joseph Paul Kimble's, the shortest (1969-1971). Succeeding Chiefs include Brice L. Cork (1971-1975); Edward S. Kreins (1975-1979); Lee D. Tracy (1979-1985); Marvin D. Iannone (1985 -2003); David L. Snowden (2004-2015); Dominick Rivetti as Interim Chief (2015-2016); and Sandra Spagnoli (2016-present).